Innovating for Continence 2013


2013 Innovating for Continence Conference, April 11-13

30th Anniversary Gala Dinner, April 12
Chicago, IL, USA

Abstract Book 2013 (PDF)

Program 2013 (PDF)

Speaker Biographies 2013 (PDF)

2013 Innovating for Continence – Honorary President

Robert LinsenmeierThe Honorary President for our 2013 Innovating for Continence Conference is: Professor Robert Linsenmeier, Ph.D.

Dr.  Linsenmeier has a joint appointment in Biomedical Engineering in the Robert R. McCormick School of Engineering and Applied Science, and in Neurobiology in the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences, with an additional appointment in Ophthalmology at Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois.

His research interests are in the role of retinal oxygen transport and metabolism in both normal conditions and diseases such as diabetic retinopathy and retinal detachment, and in bioengineering and physiology education.  His teaching is largely in the area of human and animal physiology.

He has been involved with the Simon Foundation for Continence’s prior Innovating for Continence conferences as part of the Planning Committee for 2009 and 2011. In his role at Northwestern University, he has also sought to connect the biomedical engineering community and his students to the need to solve incontinence challenges.

He is the Director of the Northwestern Center for Engineering Education Research. Formerly, he was the Associate Director of the VaNTH Engineering Research Center in Bioengineering Educational Technologies, and Chair of the Biomedical Engineering Department at Northwestern.

Dr. Linsenmieier is a fellow of the American Institute of Medical and Biological Engineering, the Biomedical Engineering Society, and the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology. He was conference chair of the Biomedical Engineering Society Annual Meeting in 2006, the Third Bioengineering Education Summit Meeting in 2008, and the American Institute of Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) Annual Event in 2011.  His roles for AIMBE have included Vice President, Treasurer, Academic Council Chair, and Chair of the College of Fellows.